Author Blakely Chorpenning

 

I have had the pleasure of interviewing Blakely Chorpenning. I would like to thank her for taking the time to do the interview. I hope you enjoy!

Books by Blakely Chorpenning

FRAYED cover art

Fray loves being a semi-pro fighter and free spirit. However, when a deadly faction begins abducting supernatural teens in the Blue Hills of North Carolina for excruciating experiments, she quickly learns there is more to life than glitzy opponents and late night trysts. Fray and a crew of unlikely allies must rescue the children before they are dissected alive. Being a leopard shapeshifter helps. Confronting personal prejudice and traversing feelings for a tempestuous ex do not mix. But Fray is willing to go all the way to stop her world from changing. That is, until the ultimate sacrifice forces her to realize just how overdue change is. Her most shocking discovery: Everyone’s human. At least a little…

Purchase Link: Frayed

 

 

Souled Out cover art

“SOULED OUT is a dark tale of betrayal at the deepest level.” -The Reading Cafe

“[Ell Clyne’s] life is thrown away and we see her defending her position as the Cypher, in a fire, trying to kill someone, running from the evilest creatures, rescuing her friend and trying to stay in one piece… She feels real and loveable.” -Reading… Dreaming

Ell Clyne is lost living someone else’s life. But reading souls to save the fate of a loved one seemed like a fair trade. At first.

The lie has cost Ell her family, her future, her very soul. Now the secret is out and the vampires want answers. Becoming a pawn in her own conspiracy and being abducted more times than a psychiatrist might recommend, Ell just wants to stay alive and reclaim her life without burning something down. Oops, something else.

This is the story of a girl who isn’t a superhero or a badass, but manages to fight for her place in a cold-blooded world regardless of the pain caused by that empty space where her soul should be.

 

Purchase Link: Souled Out

Author photo, Blakely Chorpenning

 

Author Bio

I live in a cozy North Carolina town with my crazy beautiful family. We bustle, we hustle, and I write in between. When I’m not writing paranormal and urban fantasy, I enjoy controlled chaos, anything shiny, soft, or fuzzy, and have a knack for breaking electronics…with my mind.

Links:

Facebook

Goodreads

Twitter @bchorpening

Pinterest

Blog & Official Website

 

Interview With Blakely Chorpenning

Hi Ronda!

I would like to say I had some crazy start like writing a prize-winning haiku on my nursery wall and doing the late night circuit rounds by age ten for penning a yet-to-be matched autobiography, but I think my beginning is like many others’. I was an avid daydreamer, movie lover, and reader, which gave way to writing short stories and, finally, books. It is one of the greatest loves of my life, although I have to admit that I’ve had plenty of inspiration.

In middle school I discovered S.E. Hinton. Knowing that she was so young when she first wrote ‘The Outsiders’ (a definite all-time favorite) and being captivated by her unique voice has encouraged determination and optimism whenever I’ve felt inadequate as a writer. Of course, my family has always been my best inspiration.

My character Fray -from my urban fantasy novella ‘Frayed’- came about shortly after I gave birth to my daughter. Between the roller coaster of hormones and overly fierce mothering instincts, I half expected to burst into some sort of wild beast ready to snarl and maul the world ragged. (My husband might swear that I did on a few occasions.) So, to cope, I channeled that energy into Fray, a.k.a. Madison Lark, a leopard shapeshifter with a rabid instinct to protect her loved ones no matter the cost. To date, she is my favorite character, not only because she was born from such a personal place, but also because she is smart, damaged, driven, and woven through with conflicts like a true modern woman.

Between currently writing the sequels to ‘Frayed’ and my new adult paranormal novel ‘Souled Out’, I have a handful of works in progress, such as a young adult fantasy romance and a few other manuscripts that are (*sigh*) vampire free. But that is what writing is: pushing the boundaries, exploring new dimensions and, occasionally, leaving the vampires at home to babysit the other things that go bump.

Along with an overwhelming need to explore and write in a number of genres, I would love to collaborate with a fellow author on a future project. That is on my bucket list. Although, I’m not sure how well that would work because I keep odd hours.

Being a mom, I kind of write wherever I can: the coffee shop (if I’m lucky), in my “office-closet”, on napkins at red lights, by the stove as dinner is cooking, next to my daughter as she falls asleep in bed. Being a writer, however, I do steal chunks of time late at night when I’m able to succumb to the writing zone, especially if there is a certain scene that needs extra momentum like music. Usually, I prefer something violent sounding for broken, quiet scenes and whimsical music for brutal or vicious moments. I appreciate wild juxtapositions.

Fun Dip and chocolate are also involved in the writing process at times. I am, after all, a self-proclaimed sugar addict.

Some random facts about me:

-I adore carnival glass

-I wish I could yodel

and

-Space freaks me out, but I love ‘Firefly’, ‘Spaceballs’, and ‘Star Trek: The Next Generation’.

Thank you, Ronda, for having me on your blog!

I hope readers will check out ‘Frayed’ and ‘Souled Out’.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

