The Cursed City by Xunaira Javed

It is my great pleasure to host this wonderful new author, Xunaira Javed, and to share her book, The Cursed City, with everyone today.

cursed city

For those who love fantasies. The City of Sweetbriar has been cursed by the wicked witch out of her spite and jealousy. There is darkness everywhere and its been ages since the inhabitants of the city has seen an outsider. The downfall of the town has been due to one unfortunate evening. Little Ali, born on the day of the curse, subjected to contempt and adversity, tries to free his city of the curse. Read and find out how he manages to fight the circumstances and become the Town’s Hero.

Interview Questions

 I would like to welcome Xunaira J. and thank her for taking the time to give me this interview. We will be finding out about her and her book The Cursed City.

Before we begin the interview, Xunaira can you tell us a little about yourself and your novel?

Well, I am a computer science student, almost halfway through my bachelors degree. I write for fun, I consider it a gene that I got from my mom since childhood and I have always loved writing. When I was in high school, I used to take part in short competitions of essay writings, so the will to write has always been there.

“The Cursed City” was a story that I hadn’t even thought I could write. I was watching pictures of snow and trees, dark areas, beautiful mountains and it just came to me. The protagonist is a ten year old boy, who is older than his age and being cursed since the day he was born, he wants to prove himself to the town people.

It is a good story with a moral for young children, who have to grow up and be something. Their need to understand their roles in life is clearly depicted in this story.

Now on to the interview.

  1. When did you start writing?

I started writing in August, after being coerced and prodded into writing by a very good friend of mine.

  1. What/who inspired you to write?

As I mentioned before, I was a long lost writer although I never published before, but my inspiration was a close friend of mine who forced me into this again.

  1. Who has been the most supportive?

My parents, of course and then my siblings and friends. Everyone has been quite supportive of me.

  1. What writers inspired you and what about their work do you most like?

When I was a kid, I used to read a lot of Charles Dickens. His works have been great for readers of all ages especially David Copperfield and Christmas Carol and therefore he has been my inspiration. Moreover, there have been other writers as well like J.K. Rowling, Stephenie Meyer and Judith McNaught.

  1. What is your favorite piece of writing by them?

By Charles Dicken, as I have mentioned before, David Coppefield and Oliver Twist are my favorite. Now we all know J.K.Rowling has been so popular for Harry Potter so that was one of my favorite ones and same goes with Twilight Saga. With JM, I love Whitney, My Love and Something Wonderful.

  1. Have you collaborated or plan to collaborate in the future?

Not sure about that right now. Maybe in future, I must.

  1. What future projects do you have in store?

I am currently working on three different manuscripts, don’t worry, they are only three because I suffer from writer’s block a lot. I am sure about one of them, that is a crime thriller and romance which I am going to publish soon.

  1. Are you currently working on a project?

Yes, there is one particular project that I want to see completed for sure.

  1. What is your favorite piece of writing from your own work and why?

I especially the like the prologue of my upcoming novel, I couldn’t believe myself when I wrote that. Shows my bloodthirsty side, I guess.

For the lighter questions

  1. Do have any writing quirks?

Writing is an art, it comes to you as easily as you breathe therefore those who believe that they can’t write, just strive hard and try to take care of their writer’s block.

  1. Do you snack while you write?

Sometimes, when I work late at night.

  1. Do have a special place that you prefer to write?

Not really. I can write anywhere.

  1. Do have certain amount of time that you have set aside to write each day?

Nopes, I write when I feel like. Sometimes, I just write in my phone and later take out the notes and see what I have written.

  1. Do you listen to music when you write? If so what type of music (genre and/or songs)?

Oh, Yes! Definitely, I do! I listen to the 80s music, singers like Bryan Adams, Roxette, Air Supply and many more.

  1. Anything other interesting information that you would like to add.

I become totally psychotic when I write, I live my characters myself and then write. Seems weird to many but that is how I am.

Bio

Born on October 17, 1990 in Islamabad, Pakistan, to a government officer and a homemaker, Xunaira J, as a child dreamed of being a writer.She always loved writing short stories and has been active on Helium (www.helium.com) as a creative writer. She has been a blogger and been writing articles on relationship and family.When she was young she used to write for US Magazine. Currently, Xunaira is doing her Bachelors in Mobile and Ubiquitous Computing from SZABIST (Shaheed Zulfiqar Ali Bhutto Institute of Science and Technology, Islamabad). The name of her book on Amazon Kindle is “The Cursed City”. Her second book is a joint venture with Ms. Ana Lee and is available in Kindle store with the name of “Mia’s Confession”. Meanwhile, She is working on another volume which is almost reaching completion. She is anticipating to publish it sometime next year.

Authors central: amazon.com/author/xunairajaved  

Contact links:

Blog: http://revampinglife.com/

Twitter: @XunairaJ

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/13570246-xunaira

Facebook: http://facebook.com/revampinglif3

Email: xunairaj@live.com

Purchase links:

http://www.amazon.com/dp/B009OLL6UO

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

