Legacy of Dragonkin by Dan Wright

Page Turners Legacy Dragonkin Banner Full

PAGE TURNER BOOK TOURS PRESENTS…

LOD Front Cover

Legacy Of The Dragonkin

Blurb:

Benji Dragonkin aspires to be a hero, just like his mother – Queen Daniar Dragonkin. He wants to become a famous warrior so that he can save the day – and win the heart of his long time friend, Lydia Taurok. But with his mother being overly protective of him, and a dark side to his father that threatens to tear their family apart, Benji has a long way to go just yet.

Zarracka Dragonkin, still a prisoner of Daniar, plots her revenge against her sister – and Benji may just be the key to her victory.

And in the land of Drewghaven, the Kthonian Knights arise once more, determined to once again bring forth their revenge against the men of the world. Their leader, Jihadain, seeks to settle old scores with Daniar – and break her spirit in the process.

With villains gathering and allies faltering, Benji sees this as a chance to prove himself a true warrior. But even more harrowing is a warning that his mother receives, forshadowing a greater evil:

“She is coming…”

Amazon UK | Amazon USA

About Dan Wright:

Dan lives in the UK, his hometown being Canterbury, Kent. A huge fan of both Fantasy and Manga, he has a style that combines both within his writing, which lets him tell stories that are both dramatic and tongue-in-cheek at the same time.

Dan also runs his own website, blog and even a wiki page that goes into detail of the world of Draconica. He is also a reviewer for the website Read2Review and also reviews books independently on his own website.

Authors who have inspired Dan are Douglas Adams, J.R.R Tolkien, Harlan Ellison, Alan Moore, Joss Whedon, H.P Lovecraft, George R.R Martin and Hiromu Arakawa.

You can connect with Dan Wright at the following places:

Website | Facebook | Twitter

 Dan Chibi Figure

Interview with Dan Wright

I would like to welcome Dan Wright and thank him for taking the time to give me this interview. We will be finding out about him and his book Legacy of the Dragonkin.

Before we begin the interview, Dan, can you tell us a little about yourself and your novel?

Sure thing. I live in the UK, in the city of Canterbury. I’m a writer of Fantasy novels, but with a Manga edge (Manga is Japanese comics for those who don’t know). I’ve been a huge fan of Fantasy ever since my dad would read Roald Dahl stories to me when I was young. I also grew up loving stories like Lord of the Rings and The Chronicles of Narnia and the tales of King Arthur. I always had a love for stories that included dragons, knights and all that. Later in life I gained an interest in Japanese Anime and Manga – I loved it’s over the top and tongue in cheek nature – so I found a way of adding that to my writing to create my own unique style.

This book, Legacy of the Dragonkin, is the sequel to my first novel, Trapped on Draconica. It’s set in the world of Draconica – a fantasy world that was founded by the dragons, who in the context of this story are pretty much the equivalent of deities. The dragons live on in the Dragonkin, sisters that were granted dragon powers and were tasked with keeping the memory of the dragons alive.

Legacy of the Dragonkin, follows Benji Dragonkin, son of Queen Daniar Dragonkin, as he seeks adventure in his quest to become as famous a warrior as his mother. At this time, the Kthonian Knights, old enemies of Daniar, return and their leader, Jihadain, seeks to revive an ancient monster – and destroy Daniar. It’s a story about personal growth and learning from your mistakes – but also how strong the bond of family can be. It has its fair share of action, laughs and heavy drama and its story will keep you entertained from the very beginning.

Now on to the interview.

 

  1. When did you start writing?

I properly started writing around 2007-2008 time. Although, when I was back at school, I wrote my own comic called The Abbey School Avenger, even though I can’t draw for toffee! I think I got into novel writing because I realized that I wouldn’t be able to draw my own comic – so decided that novel writing was my best way to go.

  1. What/who inspired you to write?

There have been a lot of writers that inspired me – but I think the real reason to start writing came from the fact that I have an overactive imagination. I came up with so many ideas for stories every single day I just had to put them down onto paper somehow.

  1. Who has been the most supportive?

My friends and family have been extremely supportive of me this entire time. My parents are even my unofficial agents and even give advice in terms of who I should contact or promote my work. And one of my friends even asked if I could get a T-Shirt printed for her daughter containing artwork from my book, that’s pretty amazing!

  1. What writers inspired you and what about their work do you most like?

J.R.R Tolkien is a major inspiration, as is Terry Pratchett for introducing me to the Fantasy world. Roald Dahl for getting me into writing. H.P. Lovecraft for the Horror elements and the darker side of my writing. Later favorites include Joss Whedon, for his witty writing and ability to create strong characters, especially female ones, and George R R Martin for demonstrating that Fantasy can be about personal struggles and not just about epic quests.

  1. What is your favorite piece of writing by them?

Lord of the Rings for Tolkien. Truckers for Pratchett. The Shadow over Innsmouth and Call of Cthullu for Lovecraft. The Firefly series by Whedon and, no surprises, A Song of Ice and Fire, by Martin.

  1. Have you collaborated or plan to collaborate in the future?

I would love to collaborate with other writers in the future. I often collaborate with artists to do artwork for my books, but working with another writer would be great for me.

  1. What future projects do you have in store?

More Draconica novels, that’s for sure. I am already working on the next book in the series – but I’m also looking to do a few prequel novels set around certain characters in my series. I think a lot of the characters I’ve create have a lot of scope and potential for their own series and this is something I’d love to work on. I also have plans for a Manga/Comic based around a character I’ve created, but still looking for an artist for that.

  1. Are you currently working on a project?

I’m ALWAYS working on a project when it comes to my writing J. Right now I’m working on the next of the Draconica novels. I’ll probably have to break this one up into two books due to the enormity of the storyline. It’s probably going to be the biggest story I’ve written to date!

  1. What is your favorite piece of writing from your own work and why?

I have to say that Legacy of the Dragonkin is my favourite work I’ve written so far and the one I’m most proud of. Trapped on Draconica, the first book, was fun to write, but the story was a little weak for my liking and maybe had a few holes in the plot. Legacy of the Dragonkin I really worked hard on, making sure I focused on the characters to really give depth to the story. It was fun taking the characters I had in the first book and expanding on them.

There is also a character in the book that I’m quite happy with – due to his overall impact in the story (but I won’t give spoilers as to who that is!)

For the lighter questions

  1. Do have any writing quirks?

I tend to use the words “almost” and “nearly” way too often, which sometimes lessens the action. I’m working on this as well. Also, I cannot count how many times I misspell the as teh in the first edits!

  1. Do you snack while you write?

Sometimes. Usually I just drink an insane amount of caffeine! Wine is sometimes a beverage I have when I write.

  1. Do have a special place that you prefer to write?

I do all my writing in my office. Mainly because that’s where the computer is.

  1. Do have certain amount of time that you have set aside to write each day?

I try to do at least 6 hours when I can. I prefer to write on my days off because that way I can give it my full attention.

  1. Do you listen to music when you write? If so what type of music (genre and/or songs)?

I shouldn’t do really, but yes I do. I listen to a lot of rock/metal (my main choices are Rush and Dream Theater), but this can sometimes be distracting for me, especially if it’s a song I really like! So I try not to if I can avoid it, unless I’m really knackered and need something to keep me awake.

  1. Anything other interesting information that you would like to add.

I’m planning to turn my books into an audio book series at some point. I have some voice actors currently helping me out with it, so keep an eye on Youtube! I also have ideas to maybe turn my books into an animate series – well, one day!

Contact links:

Website and blog: www.pandragondan.co.uk

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/PandragonDanWright

Twitter: https://twitter.com/#!/PandragonDan

Email: PandragonPublishing@gmail.com

Purchase links:

Amazon US: http://www.amazon.com/Legacy-of-the-Dragonkin-ebook/dp/B00BK848K4/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1361728517&sr=8-1&keywords=Legacy+of+the+Dragonkin

Amazon UK: http://www.amazon.co.uk/Legacy-of-the-Dragonkin-ebook/dp/B00BK848K4/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1361728499&sr=8-1

Smashwords: http://www.smashwords.com/books/view/289092

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Legacy of Dragonkin by Dan Wright

  1. Hi Ronda. Thank you so much for the interview and being part of the tour! 🙂

Leave a Reply

