The Griffin Cryer by Julia Hughes

51iauk1FWpL._AA160_

Frankie Shaunessy’s friends are out of this world!

It’s an easy mistake to make – instead of whistling and calling for her dog, fifteen year old Frankie accidentally summons a griffin and his rider from another world. The Rider is tall, blond and extremely rude. On the other hand, Balkind is the sweetest, most lovable griffin Frankie’s ever met, and Frankie is determined to help the Rider and his griffin find a way back to their own world.

Dealing with parallel universes, disgruntled warriors, and hungry griffins is the easier part of Frankie’s life. At school, Frankie learns friends can become enemies, teachers aren’t always right, and the boy of your dreams can be all too human. Told in approximately 53,000 words, suitable for young adults, and all those who’ve ever dreamed of riding a griffin.

My Review

The Griffin Crier by Julia Hughes was truly an amazing and magical story for all ages. It was action packed filled with wonderment and excitement. The characters were so realistic. I love that Julia gave the Griffin a personality that made you want to take him home. Frankie is a typical teenager that everyone can relate to, but she is also strong and full of life. The Rider reminds me of the knight in shining armor, rescuing Frankie in a sense. This is such a unique story that intertwines myth with reality. Julia does this in such a way that the story is so believable. The way it is written makes you want to join the characters in the book and help them. It is a book that pulls you and won’t let you go until the end, and then leaves you wanting more. This is an outstanding story. I recommend it for anyone who loves mythology and griffins.

76b87d62be030ad8976f30.L._V394752341_SX200_

Bio

The London born author of the Celtic Cousins’ Adventures: A Raucous Time; A Ripple in Time; and An Explosive Time. The Bridle Path, and her latest title is a young adult/crossover action adventure: The Griffin Cryer.

“I’m an eldest child and walking my younger brother and sister to school and back, I’d tell them stories – a captive audience! On leaving college, I worked at the BBC, helping write stories for their “Schools’ Programmes”. That was back in the day, before satellite telly made it over to the UK and ‘Auntie Beeb’ ruled the air waves! I gave it all up for the good life, and moved down to Cornwall, one of the most beautiful counties in England, and often known as ‘God’s own country.’ I think the greatest compliment I received was ‘Julia’s more Cornish than the Cornish.’ I picked daffodils in winter and made pasties for the holidaymakers in the summer. But all good things come to an end: I upped sticks to be closer to my family, and landed in a little village just outside London, and have been here ever since, scribbling away at my stories. ”
I don’t specifically write in any one genre, an idea will flitter into my mind, and the story develops. My first three titles, “A Raucous Time”, “A Ripple in Time” and “An Explosive Time” are action adventures, while “The Bridle Path” is romance. I think I’d overdosed on the testosterone flying around in the previous three books and wanted something a little more feminine and romantic.
My latest title “The Griffin Cryer” is an adventure/fantasy. What makes this genre special is the opportunity to really allow imagination to take flight, and even create whole new worlds for readers to explore.

Interview Questions

I would like to welcome Julia Hughes, and thank her for taking the time to give me this interview. We will be finding out about her and her book “The Griffin Cryer”

Before we begin the interview Julia, can you tell us a little about yourself and your novel?

Hi Ronda, and thank you so much for your time! It’s lovely to be here on your site, and great to meet all your readers. “The Griffin Cryer” is my first YA adventure, and features an ordinary teenager who discovers she has an extra-ordinary – and unusual talent:

Frankie Shaunessy has the ability to call a griffin and his rider from another dimension. The griffin’s sweet and lovable, his rider is – unsurprisingly – extremely annoyed with Frankie, and she feels responsible for helping them back to their own world. Suitable for young adults, and anyone who’s ever dreamed of riding on the back of a griffin.

Now on to the interview.

  1. When did you start writing?

As soon as I could hold a pencil! I used to pretend I didn’t much care either way, but at school, I lived for English lessons – I loved to lose myself in words. I wish I’d been more open about my secret desire to write.

  1. What/who inspired you to write?

There have been many many inspirations, I wanted to tell stories, but never dreamed I could actually write an entire novel – authors were – well – authoritive! They’d been to college, even university, and were experts in literature. Then along came JK with Harry Potter – Miss Rowling had a dream that she wanted to share with other people who were willing to believe in the magical world of Hogwarts – this inspired me to write!

  1. Who has been the most supportive?

Since I ‘came out’ as an indie writer and self -published, my fellow indie writer and critique partner Stephen Spencer, and during the writing of “The Griffin Cryer” my beta readers, in particular Dody Cox who has been a joy to work with. My family understand that I only answer in grunts when I’m writing – one grunt ‘no’ two grunts ‘yes please.’

  1. What writers inspired you and what about their work do you most like?

C S Lewis – I love the way hidden messages in his Narnia Chronicles are still being discovered.

  1. What is your favorite piece of writing by them?

“The Voyage of the Dawn Treader” – isn’t that a wonderful name for a ship sailing to strange and wonderful lands? I’ve always had a bit of a crush on Prince Caspian too!

  1. Have you collaborated or plan to collaborate in the future?

To some extent – but more so with “The Griffin Cryer” – the musical scenes were collaborated with Jenny Worstall who in real life is a music teacher and author of the rom/com “Make a Joyful Noise”.  It was wonderful to read Jenny’s suggestions. Apart from turning to experts to ensure that certain scenes and actions ring true though, I don’t think co-authorship is for me. But who knows? Never say never!

  1. What future projects do you have in store?

A sequel to “The Griffin Cryer” there’s a lot more I’d like to discover about the Rider, who really is an enigma at the moment. I had fun writing “An Explosive Time” and would love to revisit the thriller genre, and also planned is a sequel to “The Bridle Path” the two teenage characters still have their story to tell.

  1. Are you currently working on a project?

There have been so many fantastic reviews on “The Griffin Cryer” I’m currently composing the first draft of a sequel – still to be titled! There will be many more griffins! If anyone has any suggestions for suitable griffin names … please do get in touch!

  1. What is your favorite poem from your own work and why?

By co-incidence, just last week a poem presented itself to me quite out of the blue – it’s only around the second poem I’ve ever written, and doesn’t scan or even rhyme very well. So with apologies to TS Elliott:

An Author’s Prayer:

If I stand before the pearly gates, and St Peter asks me what I’ve done,
I’ll point to M, then to J, and say ‘I raised my fine young sons’
and if he nods and smiles and asks ‘Anything else to declare?’
I’ll point to my dogs, waiting patiently for me there,
and say ‘I earned their love’ and if the saint still wants more,
before he opens heaven’s door, I can say I shared my dreams
with others who believe in magic realms.
Meanwhile I dwell on this earthly shore, with many mysteries to explore,
so reader take my hand and trust; we will find magic in a handful of dust.

For the lighter questions

  1. Do you have any writing quirks?

I’ll often have plot outlines present themselves while I’m out walking the dogs – I send myself text messages on ideas that I want to explore once home. A day or two later, I’ll read some random message from myself and wonder what on earth I was thinking.

  1. Do you snack while you write?

Yes – I break off a square of chocolate as a reward each time a chapter is completed. I get through a bar of chocolate every three days!

  1. Do have a special place that you prefer to write?

I love to write in the garden in summer – who doesn’t! I’m trying to improve my balance so that I can write in the hammock.

  1. Do you have certain amount of time that you have set aside to write each day?

I’m lucky, my time’s pretty much my own – it’s more a question of setting aside time when I’m not writing!

  1. Do you listen to music when you write? If so what type of music (genre and/or songs)?

I’m a little bit of a diva; and prefer complete silence – else my mind goes wandering off in all different directions!

  1. Anything other interesting information that you would like to add.

“The Griffin Cryer” is to be published as a paperback, and should be available at all good bookshops, as well as your favourite online stores round about the 20th March. To celebrate, a free promotional run of “The Griffin Cryer” in ebook format is planned for 26th – 30th March. I hope your readers will grab a copy for their own kindles – there’s also a free contest to win a signed paperback copy of “The Griffin Cryer” and entry couldn’t be simpler. Anyone leaving a comment on this post at your site will be entered automatically, or your readers can enter by ‘liking’ and leaving a comment on the Griffin Riders’ facebook page. Tweeters can follow and retweet Griffin Riders on Twitter for extra entries. In addition to the first prize, there’s also runners’ up prizes up for grabs – including all three “Celtic Cousins’ Adventures” in ebook format, and some very special prizes donated by the griffins of Ella-Earth.

Julia’s website: Julia Hughes

Tweet to @Tinksaid

Don’t miss out! “The Griffin Cryer” is free from 26th March – 30th March – why not download a sample on your kindle now so you’re ready to roll with Frankie and friends!

Contact links:

Julia’s Amazon page

Julia’s website

Or tweet to @tinksaid

Thanks again Ronda, I’ve embedded purchase links into the interview, if they don’t work you can find the page at: http://www.amazon.com/The-Griffin-Cryer-ebook/dp/B00AM5GQUG/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1362697963&sr=1-1&keywords=the+griffin+cryer

Short bio: Julia Hughes lives with her two young adults and three dogs, and is the author of the Celtic Cousins’ Adventures: A Raucous Time, A Ripple in Time, An Explosive Time, and the stand alone romance, “The Bridle Path.”

The Griffin Cryer will be free to download from 26th March – 30th March – why not download a sample now and you’re all good to go! Don’t forget to click the like button if you like the synopsis – if you’re on facebook be sure to come by “Ella-Earth”, like the page and you’ll have an automatic invitation to this and any future events and giveaways.

If you’d like to win a signed paperback copy of “The Griffin Cryer” enter the free easy to enter competition run by Rafflecopter:

If you could send me any bio and bio picture, book cover picture, and anything else you can think that might be of importance. I will also be adding the review J

Links: http://www.amazon.com/Julia-Hughes/e/B005CRGP6Y/ref=sr_tc_2_0?qid=1362754919&sr=8-2-ent

UK review site link:  http://www.amazon.co.uk/product-reviews/B00AM5GQUG/ref=dp_top_cm_cr_acr_txt?ie=UTF8&showViewpoints=1

Purchase link: http://www.amazon.com/The-Griffin-Cryer-ebook/dp/B00AM5GQUG/ref=sr_1_4?ie=UTF8&qid=1362755380&sr=8-4&keywords=julia+hughes

4 Comments

Filed under Young Adult Fantasy

4 responses to “The Griffin Cryer by Julia Hughes

  1. Thank you Ronda, for inviting me onto your site, lovely to be here. There’s a facebook event created for “The Griffin Cryer” http://www.facebook.com/events/472467902806858/ please do drop by & invite all your friends – there will be swag!

  2. C.S. Lewis is certainly in your ‘blood,’ Julia! Within each interview, you drop new little tidbits for us to find, related to your writing. I’m going to borrow the chocolate idea 🙂

  3. Certainly:) Feel free to borrow any ideas!

Leave a Reply

