After the Sixth Day: Notes from a Spiritual Journey by Trinka Polite

coverI would like to share with you the writing of poet Trinka Polite. Her book, After the Sixth Day: Notes from a Spiritual Journey, is wonderfully written. The poems are uplifting and inspirational. This book is a collection of poetry that chronicles the experience of one spirit’s journey through the world. “After the Sixth Day reveals that through interaction with the world, the spirit is tested, awakened, and strengthened” (Trinka Polite). After the Sixth Day has something to offer everyone. Something that I really enjoyed about the book was the personal reflection at the end. This makes the reader really consider the poetry and the impact that it left on the reader.

A few of the poems that especially spoke to me were A Mother’s Prayer, Heavenly Playmates, Woman to Woman, At the Gate, and When You See a Crow. These particular poems touched my heart.

Trinka has a special insight into the spirit that is enlightening and is expressed through her poetry.

web photoBio:

Trinka Polite is a poet from the beautiful state of Georgia. Her first publication is a collection of poetry—After the Sixth Day: Notes from a Spiritual Journey. She also enjoys a career as a licensed counselor with a M.A. in Humanistic Psychology. When Trinka is not working on writing projects she enjoys cooking, dancing, traveling, reading, and spending time with her family. She currently resides in the Greater St. Louis area where she is working on her first novel.

Trinka was kind enough to give me an interview about herself as an author and her work. I hope you enjoy getting to know her as much as I did 🙂

Interview Questions

1. When did you start writing? 13 years old – Of course, I didn’t know where it would lead to then.

2. What/who inspired you to write? The first time I wrote a poem was on a bus ride home after I had a bad day at school. I remember that it was raining. I looked down at the notebook in my lap, opened it and just started writing about how I was feeling at that moment.  I’ve been writing ever since.

3. Who has been the most supportive? So many people but special thanks to my Mom and my siblings who have encouraged and inspired me.

4. What writers inspired you and what about their work do you most like? My single biggest inspiration is Maya Angelou. Her work is passionate, full of vivid imagery and intense. I love it!

5. What is your favorite piece of writing by them? Still I Rise

6. Have you collaborated or plan to collaborate in the future? Maybe. It’s definitely an option I’ll keep open.

7. What future projects do you have in store? A novel, the 2nd edition of After the Sixth Day, and offering my poetry in different formats

8. Are you currently working on a project? Yes. The novel is in the baby stage.

9. What is your favorite poem from your own work and why? Oh that’s a hard question. They’re all my favorites! One of my favorite poems to perform is Caught Off Guard.

For the lighter questions

 

10. Do have any writing quirks?  Hmmm I don’t think so.

11. Do you snack while you write? It depends on the mood/tone of what I’m writing. If it fits with what the scene I’m working on, then yes.

12. Do have a special place that you prefer to write? Kitchen Table—it’s in front of the patio doors. I can enjoy the view of the trees in the backyard and the beautiful sky.

13. Do have certain amount of time that you have set aside to write each day? No. I always keep my journal close by, because I only write when I’m inspired or the characters “call me.” J

14. Do you listen to music when you write? If so what type of music (genre and/or

songs)? Yes. I listen to meditation or classical music. Music with words is too distracting.  J

You can find Trinka Polite at the following:

Website http://www.politejourney.com

Blog  http://www.mstrinkav.blogspot.com

FB http://www.facebook.com/AfterTheSixthDay

Purchase Links:

http://www.politejourney.com/#!for-e-readers

http://www.lulu.com/politejourney

http://www.amazon.com/Trinka-Polite/e/B008KFOTEA/ref=ntt_athr_dp_pel_1

You can also hear Trinka read her poetry on her site.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

